Post-Partum Body: 3 Months

I don’t really know how to start this post. When I don’t know how to start I just make a list:

a) have NOT cleaned up my diet as much as I should have.

b) I did lose 1 inch off of my hips, and half an inch off of my waist

c) exercise didn’t exactly happen every day.

d) I continued to bounce around the same weight that I have been at since about 1 month postpartum.

So, all of these things does not exactly add up to a “succesful” first month back at it. But you know what? My definition of success has changed. My first, and foremost priority is sustaining my childs life and livlihood, and I did damn good at that. The rest will come.

I do want to lose these last 14ish pounds though, and I would like to be brave enough to put on non-maternity pants. MY non maternity pants dont fit, although I dont expect them too. BUT, I probably should give up on my maternity pants soon.  Honestly, I’m avoiding shopping because I know it won’t be fun, but maybe there will be something mentally positive about not having an elastic panel go all the way up to my boobs.

So, after month threes sort-of fail, I’ve decided to set my self S.M.A.R.T goals for month four’s check in.

Here the are:

a) Reduce dessert consumption to once a day. Yes, this would be an improvement over now.

b) Increase non-walking workouts to 2x per week.

c) continue walking (as able, we’ve got some crazy life changes ahead!) 4-5x per week.

I should mention that I did do my first non-walking workout this week! I have been “pinning” living room workouts since before Anderson was born, and I finally got my butt in gear and did one during his first nap of the day. I added in some kettlebell swings, and while it didn’t feel too hard to finish, I am INCREDIBLY sore.

My workout:

warm up

25 kettlebell swings (16kg)

25 squats, 5 pushups

20 squats, 10 pushups

15 squats, 15 pushups

10 squats, 20 pushups

5 squats, 25 pushups

25 kettlebell swings (16kg)

A full body workout in just a few minutes. The squats were no problem, but those pushups, they were brutal. But, most importantly, I felt great afterwards! And, my eating was better that day. I don’t know if was just from the endorphin rush, or a mental thing of not wanting to “un-do” my good work (I know it doesn’t really work like that).

So on-ward and up-ward for next month!

 

Leave a Reply

