DINK no more

Have you guys hear the acronym DINK? It stands for Dual Income No Kids. And let me tell you, it’s the life. But, for me and my husband, this month that all changes. In April we will be SINK (what a terrible acronym!) Single Income No Kids, and by May we will be Single Income One Kid! Aagggh!

While my husband’s promotion and transfer to Wyoming were a good move for our family, and for his career, we have learned it is going to require a little bit of a financial change for us. I looked for jobs in Wyoming, looked and looked and looked. To no avail. Everything is either in an oil field or a mine (not the ideal situation for a pregnant lady eh?) or only pays 10-13 dollars an hour. I would like to state that I am not above a 10-13 dollar an hour job, in fact, I almost accepted one or two. Until I found out the cost of day care in Wyoming. Wyoming is surprisingly expensive. I know other “middle of the country” states that have a much lower cost of living, but not Wyoming my friend, not Wyoming. Infant childcare, in this town, is aproximately 1000.00 a month. ONE THOUSAND.  I realize that there are other places in this country where that is a normal, or even low-ish type number. But when the jobs pay 13 dollars an hour….how does one swing a grand a month?

Our financial situation is complicated by the fact that we chose to not sell our house in Idaho before moving. And by chose, I mean…couldn’t. At least, not for what we owe, thank you bubble/recession housing market. Don’t tell my husband but I should have listened to him when he said we shouldn’t buy a house in 2008. D’oh. But, it is what it is. The reason we lived apart from October through February, was so we could sock away enough into savings while we had those two good paying jobs, to be able to supplement our monthly needs with our savings account. It is a little depressing to have our savings account be at an all-time high, only to know that it is slowly going to dwindle until my husband’s bonus comes in November.

So, all of that being said….we are on a strict budget. Which, we have been on before. It’s not like we graduated from college making our 2011 Income. Ha. I worked as an AmeriCorp member for two years, which if you know anything about that program, means we were WELL under the poverty level. But we have gotten used to our cushy life, with the ability to spend our disposable income, pretty much how we see fit. We weren’t rollling in it, and we weren’t extravagant, but we didn’t have to worry. No, we worry. Or I worry.

So, I have been voraciously reading frugal mom blogs, and trying to figure out if there is a way to coupon with out becoming a crazy hoarder. Also, why are their never coupons for the food that I want to buy? I don’t want to buy 10 boxes of hot pockets for 10 dollars. I want fresh fruits and vegetables! Don’t get me started on the food system in this country, that is a whole other can of worms.

So, I am going to add a feature to this blog, about money. Our budgeting strageties, how I shop, how I clean, and well…hopefully how it is all successful!

Leave a Reply

