Pregnancy: 34 week update

If this is true, my baby is going to come out addicted to Raisin Bran.  Seriously, Raisin Bran is the ONLY thing I ever want to eat for a snack.  Now, in the interest of health and not overloading on carbs, and trying to keep my protein intake high, I try to limit my Raisin Bran intake to 4 or 5 bowls a week.

So, Today I am 34 weeks pregnant! Amazing. I look back on my early second trimester, and 34 weeks seems so, so far away. And So, So, SO pregnant.  Here are some 34 week statistics:

Pounds gained: uh….33! Gaining a little more than I was hoping too. I think some of my most recent weight gain is due to the fact that since moving to Wyoming, it’s been so wonderful to be reunited with my husband, that we have been a little lax in the healthy eating department. Going out to eat too often, and enjoying plenty of treats together. But, at the same time, 33 pounds, in 34 weeks is not terrible, and again…I’m pregnant. I feel like I am making healthy good choices 80% of the time, and it is what it is.

Number of workouts per week: 5 or 6! I am proud that this number is still this high, this late in the game.  Again, it’s increased since my move, as I am back to walking to dog on a regular basis. Walking for the express purpose of walking is getting harder though as my belly gets heavier. By the end of a 20 minute walk, my belly is really tight. I am also doing pre-natal yoga at least once a week, and two strength workouts a week. The strength workouts are mostly squats, lunges, tricep dips, and wall push ups. I am also making sure to do pelvic tilts as much as possible.

Braxton Hicks Contractions: None that I know of! Somtimes part of my stomach will feel hard and tight, but I think that is the baby moving, not a contraction. THen again, I could be totallly wrong, and i’ve been having them for a while!

Dr’s Appointment stats: BP-looks good 118/80, no protein in my urine, and no excess swelling in my feet or hands. I’m still wearing my wedding rings. Also, at my appointment yesterday I was 33 weeks 6 days, and my belly was measuring 35 weeks! I feel so vindicated that it was measuring a week ahead. My midwife told me that is still in the “normal” range (which I think is plus/minus 2 weeks) but it made me feel good, because I feel SO HUGE.

Fun things on the week 34 docket: Breast feeding class tonight! 2nd part of hospital birthing class that includes a tour of L and D on Saturday, my inlaws coming to visit this weekend, painting the nursery, and a fun fundraiser in the community!

Things we hope to accomplish before delivery: finish nurser and NAME THE BABY! We are pretty sure we are having a boy, but if it pops out a girl,  I won’t be worried, we’ve had a girl’s name for ages!

Leave a Reply

