Pregnancy: What Workout?

 

Isn't this a classic picture?

Again, sorry I’ve been so absent around here. I guess my promise is posting will be sporadic at worst, and less sporadic at best. 🙂

I’ve settled into a routine here in Wyoming. A daily routine, but not so much a real workout routine. As you know, prior to moving I was still training with kettlebells 2x a week. Well, I haven’t been doing any kettlebells since moving here. I only own a 35 pounder, and while I know that would be ok to swing, and I’m comfortable with my technique, I’m not sure of the prudence of doing my swings/other things with out someone else around. Just to be safe. The dog can’t really call 911.

I have been regularly walking, at least 5 times per week, for at least 20 minutes, which seems to be the most I can do before I get some serious round ligament pain on the top of my belly. At this point, I’m not exercising to lose weight, but exercising to keep some modicum of fitness for delivery and beyond. I have also been doing Prenatal Yoga at least once per week, sometimes two.  Last week I subbed out prenatal yoga for prenatal pilates. I found a prenatal pilates video on youtube. The pilates was quite a bit harder than Yoga, which made me realize I have been skimping out on my favorite thing: strength training!

I finally got my butt in gear this morning, after a LOOOONG night of tossing and turning due to extreme hip pain. I know that some hip pain is inevitable in late pregnancy, but it made me think about the dis-service I am doing to myself by not getting in some regular strength training.

So, I created the following “circuit” for myself. It’s pretty easy, and again tailored for what I can do in my living room, with only my body weight.

Allison’s 32 Week Circuit

March in place:30 seconds

Diagonal arm/leg balance: 10 seconds each side, repeat each side 2x

March in place: 30 seconds

20 pregnancy burpees

Plank: 20 seconds

Downdog: 30 seconds

Malasana Squat: 30 seconds

Repeat 2-3x

Today I repeated 2.5 times. I did the whole thing twice, and then on the 3 time around I only did 1 diagonal arm/leg balance on each leg, 10 burpees, and for plank I did 40 seconds, but I put my kneees down.

It’s not going to win any fitness awards, but it helped me move my body in a way that I haven’t been diligent about doing. I picked exercises that I know are ok/good for pregnancy and birth. Birth….birth is on my mind these days.  A LOT.

Leave a Reply

