The White Devil

image via bitchingnutrition.com

Hello. My name is Allison and I am addicted to sugar. Like most of the world. Last year, after I started eating Paleo, I did a Whole30. It’s 30 days of strict paleo eating.  When  I was not particpating in a Whole30, I would occasionally eat dark chocolate and drink. Maybe have dessert once a week. During the Whole30, I did none of that. And, for the first time in my life, I felt like I  was in charge of sugar, it wasn’t in charge of me. As a former binge eater (I would ALWAYS binge on Sugar) this was huge for me.

After my Whole30, I felt more in control of my sugar cravings, and honesty,I ate a lot less of it.

And then, all together now, I got pregnant. And I started eating refined carbs because they didn’t make me gag. And we all know that refined carbs are just sugar right? Even “whole grains,” just sugar people. So, here I am again, addicted to my old friend sugar. How do I know? Because, as part of my new clean up the diet plan, I intend to going back to eating treats/sugar only once a week, and today was ROUGH. After lunch I wanted sugar,  instead of my afternoon snack, I wanted sugar, after dinner…I wanted sugar. Sigh. This is the hard part, the get over the cravings part.

But I need to do it. I feel better when my body isn’t craving that sugar high. I know that this doesn’t work for everyone, but for me, I have to go cold turkey for a while, so  I can eat sugar like a normal person. Here goes nothing!

Leave a Reply

