Living with the In-laws…The Set-Up.

When I started this blog I thought of several “topics” that I could write regularly on; pregnancy and birth, living with my in-laws, long distance marriage, jobs (or lack there of), moving from two incomes to one, and moving to Wyoming.

In that vein, I’m going to start with a post on living with my in-laws.

I would like to add a disclaimer, that I love my in-laws. I am 100 percent grateful that they have welcome me into their home, and allowed me to take over their upstairs guest suite.

This post is just to set the scene of my living arrangement. My set-up if you will.

My in-laws live in a 2,150 square foot house. 3 bedrooms, 3 baths. One story, with a loft area. The loft has a walk-in closet and full bathroom. When my in-laws were looking at this house, my Mother-in-law was sold, solely for the loft space. She went on and on about how great it would be should anyone ever need to live with them. All of us “kids” would roll our eyes and say, “Yeah, but we’ll never need to.” Famous last words.

Fast forward 12 months, and what do we have? Me, moving in with my in-laws. We own a house here in Idaho, and decided to turn it into a rental, and have me move in with my husband’s parents. My husband took 98% of our worldy possessions with him to our rental in Wyoming, and I have basically just my clothes and few other personal items.

The guest space in my in-laws has a queen bed, a love seat, a small TV, a walk-in closet, a full bath, and a mini fridge. Probably the size of some studios in NYC! I insisted to my mother-in-law that I didn’t need a mini-fridge, but, again, I’m eating my words and I find it very convenient for keeping water cold to have in the middle of the night. My mother-in-law always trys to get me to keep food up there, in case I get hungry in the middle of the night, but since I can still manage the stairs, I figure the trip down and up for food at 3am, is probably best.

Living with parents, anyones parents, is strange after living with peers or my husband for the past 10.5 years, but I am thankful for what my in-laws have given me; companionship during a time when I could be incredibly lonely.

Leave a Reply

